Debra Reay
1 min readJan 14, 2022

--

I love you too❤ It seems we do have a lot in common. I was in care from 9 months until 4 - the picture you see is at the age of 4. I was taken from care and lived with my father and all the family. 8 of us kids, 4 birth and 4 step! My abuse started at the age of 9/10 with daily beatings and berating from the stepmother and her daughter (about 10 yrs older than me) - the beatings could have started earlier, I don't remember that far back. The sexual abuse started also aged around 9 by the others, raped on my 16th birthday and then quite often later until my last day... New years eve I was raped. I left at 21 when I tried numerous times to take my life, from pills, drinking myself into a stupor and tried to strangle myself. All this with being abandoned by my birth mother and being left with nobody, until my children came along!

Thank you for opening up your soul and revealing all you endured!!! You are one hell of a woman!!!!

You are so strong and you don’t ever need to hide away!! We got this - #Wearesurvivors!!!!!

--

--

Debra Reay

Writer, Poet and survivor of childhood abuse! Author of poem's~A Child Unloved, Soul Destroyed and more recently, The little girl in yellow bows.