I see you now

Debra Reay
1 min readAug 13, 2023

--

Talking to the inner child poem

Photo by Bianca Berndt on Unsplash

A lifetime it’s taken
To realise
To finally see you
Allowing myself to feel
I see you

I see you now
I see the child
You once were
All the pain you held
and words unsaid

I see you now
The little girl
Who was lost
Broken but alive
I see you

I see you now
Your blonde hair
And green eyes
I see your broken smile
I see you

I see you now
As I close my eyes
I see your beauty
Your strength
And your courage

I see you now
How could I not?
I saw daily struggles
As you grew older
I saw you

I see you now
I saw those pills
The cries for help
If I’d known your pain
I did not see desperation

I see you now
I can’t save the child
You once were
How I wish I could have
But I can save you now

Because, I see you

© D.Reay2023

--

--

Debra Reay

Writer, Poet and survivor of childhood abuse! Author of poem's~A Child Unloved, Soul Destroyed and more recently, The little girl in yellow bows.