Trapped

Debra Reay
Aug 6, 2023

--

Photo by Peter Herrmann on Unsplash

Trapped and locked away
A darkened space
Of little light shining
Through tiny crevices
Her body unmoved
While life begins to fade
Sucked from her soul
Last words muttered seeping
From death-looked lips
He must feel joyous
After silencing her
Over and over again

© D.Reay2023

I haven’t participated in our Twitter, weekly poetry battle for a while due to my own battles with things I have been dealing with. @MoveMePoetry @JDgreyson
This week on the 4th August I saw the prompt word ‘ATTIC’ I decided to have a go at this poem and I was immediately thrown into a panic when it became a trigger from my past, but here it is. I no longer feel TRAPPED!!

--

--

Debra Reay

Writer, Poet and survivor of childhood abuse! Author of poem's~A Child Unloved, Soul Destroyed and more recently, The little girl in yellow bows.